Our Host

Norwood Hills Country Club has been known as the destination club for the best amateur golfers in the gateway region for most of the past 80 years.  Originally penned as the North Hills Country Club, it slated 45 greens on property and some of the most challenging golf in the region.  Norwood Hills has been home to tour pro golfers, the runner up in the U.S. Amateur, many Missouri State Champions, as well as local Gateway Champions. For the future, Norwood Hills hopes to boast that former St Louis Junior Invitational players are among those found playing on the PGA tour, the Ryder Cup, Walker Cup and maybe even the Masters.  

History of Championships at Norwood Hills Country Club

Ben Hogan's 30th PGA Champinship win at Norwood Hills Country Club

    1931 MO State Am Championship
    1936 The First National Left-Handed Championship 
    1938 MO State Am Championship
    1936 National Left-Handed Championship 
    1948 PGA Championship won by Ben Hogan
    1955 LPGA STL Women's Invitational
    1956 LPGA STL Women's Invitational
    1965 LPGA STL Women's Invitational
    1972 PGA Greater St. Louis Golf Classic
    1973 PGA Greater St. Louis Golf Classic
    1981 MO State Am Championship
    1999 Metropolitan Am Championship
    2001 USGA Senior Am Championship
    2008 Metropolitan Am Championship
    2014 MO State Am Championship
    2016 Tom Watson Celebrity Golf Classic (ALS)
    2017 Metropolitan Am Championship
    2018 U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur Championship
    2021 PGA Champion Tour, Ascension Charity Classic
    1939 Women's Missouri State Am 
    1954 Women's Missouri State Am 
    1966 LPGA STL Women's Invitational
    1967 LPGA STL Women's Invitational
    1968 LPGA STL Women's Invitational
    1969 LPGA STL Women's Invitational
    1985 Women's Missouri State Am 





State Champions from Norwood Hills

The Missouri Amateur Championships are among the most honored in the country, with the men's being the 6th oldest such competition.  Begun in 1905, nine have come from Norwood Hills accounting for 18 wins.  And a member of Norwood Hills Country Club, either past or present, has won the championship in each decade since the club was founded.  

1928  Elliott Whitbread  1929  Elliott Whitbread   1931  Bryan Winter   1938  Sarah Guth Costigan  1940  Bob Cochran  1946  Betty Jane Haemerle-Broz
1948  Betty Jane Haemerle-Broz 1949  Betty Jane Haemerle-Broz 1949  Jack Geiss  1952  Jim Tom Blair 1955  Jim Tom Blair 1958  Bob Cochran
1962  Bob Cochran 1963  Marcella Rose 1965  Bob Cochran 1962  Barbara Berkmeyer 1969  Marcella Rose 1970  Barbara Berkmeyer
1972  Don Bliss 1974  Barbara Berkmeyer 1975  Barbara Berkmeyer 1983  Don Bliss
  1984  Barbara Berkmeyer
1986  Don Bliss
1988  Don Bliss 1992  Scott Thomas 1993  Bob Beckmann 1993  Barbara Beuckkman 1999  Skip Berkmeyer 2000  Barbara Berkmeyer
2001  Barbara Berkmeyer 2002  Barbara Berkmeyer 2003  Barbara Berkmeyer 2004 Barbara Berkmeyer 2005  Barbara Berkmeyer
  2006  Barbara Berkmeyer

 2006              John Kelly

2007  Barbara Berkmeyer 2008 Barbara Berkmeyer 2009 Skip Berkmeyer 2011 Barbara Berkmeyer 2015 Barbara Berkmeyer
2016 Sam Migdal  2017 Sam Migdal        

National Champions from Norwood Hills:  John Kelly - 2006 U.S. Amateur, Runner-up